April 27, 2004

Stopme if I've told you this

Ok we have to review a little. There was the original Infotel posts and the comments. Then someone called infolie said he posted false comments. I posted the letter and the uk comments I found. Since then I have gotten more email. In one, he claimed that he was responsible for other comments and listed a bunch of addresses. Since I had no way to guess whether those were or weren't his comments, I wrote back and asked him to instead post his note in the comments so that anyone reading could see his claim and decide for themselves what to believe. No response AND no post in the comments.

On Monday, yes, yesterday, I received this:

Hello,

I never sent you any e-mails due to the fact that
Mail15.com was changing to Hotbox.ru and has just been re-
opened for about a week or two. The infolie@mail15.com has
been down since I created it and I could never access it,
consequently, all e-mails to it would be returned.

If you received an e-mail from infolie@mail15.com, it was a
Spoof e-mail (easily done). This e-mail reply is true
because it is a duplex conversation, not a simplex (one way
only).

I was just made aware that you received a prior e-mail
causing you to delete my posts.

(Hello Ted)

Do you SEE how annoying this is?

Posted by Justene Adamec at April 27, 2004 08:03 PM | TrackBack
Comments

Just goes to show how important the proposed "Reverse MX record" (aka "MS Caller ID for email") schemes are. Until emails have some proof of sender inherent in them, the purported address are useless.

See this post

Email "from" a domain should only be allowed to be sent from a mailserver authorized by the domain owner or their ISP. This would solve a number of other problems, such as modern virus distribution and allow simple spam blocking by domain.

Posted by: Kevin Murphy at April 28, 2004 12:27 PM (Permalink)
Post a comment









Remember personal info?